My heart is still smiling.

20140414-133644.jpg

Almost two years of marriage later, and my heart is still smiling.

So let me tell you about it.

I came home last night from an evening shift at the hospital. Dear husband is finally back home from his 3 days in MN, and had been asleep for a good few hours. None the less, I was more then excited to crawl into bed and know that he was next to me. However, when I walked in to my dark house, my eyes immediately tried to refocus on some new objects in our kitchen and dining room. I started to grin, and did I grin big. The rug that I had found while shopping with my mom, and had shown to him during a brief shopping trip, had magically found itself below our dining room table. Along with three smaller rugs by the doors.

He spoiled me.

But it didn’t end there.

I then found a Caribou Coffee care package on our kitchen counter. It included k-cups, coffee grounds, and a new mug to drink this deliciousness with. (He knows how much I have missed coffee during this lent season.–only 5 more coffee less mornings!)

He also went a bought two wall decorations that I had found from Pier One. I must add that I only described them one time. I even asked him this morning if he was in cahoots with my mom, because how would he ever have picked them out, but he did. And all by himself.

This morning I woke up to cookies from my mother-in-law that he had brought back, and he brought me back chipotle and it was in the fridge. Seriously!?? How did I get so lucky.

This man is my hero, and not just because he bought me a rug, wall décor, food, or coffee. He knew that I was disappointed that I wasn’t able to go with him this past weekend, and instead he brought me back a few of my favorite things. A rug may not be that exciting to you, but it is to me. It helps make this house our home, and I think that’s part of why I was so happy last night. With every piece that comes into this house, it becomes more and more ours. He is my hero because just having him home, makes our home complete, and it makes me complete.

Leave a Reply

